Tom Archer's Blog

Windows and Web developer with Social Media tendencies

A Little About Me

My name is Tom Archer and I’m a Senior MVP Lead at Microsoft. I’ve been in the software development industry for ~25 years. Before joining Microsoft, my career consisted of being a Software Development Manager and Lead Developer for several major ISVs (e.g., IBM, AT&T, Equifax, Peachtree Software, etc). During that time I also wrote programming books for various publishers – including Microsoft Press – and was a Visual C++ MVP.

For many years, various friends who work here had attempted to cajole me into joining the “evil empire” and in 2005 I finally drank the kool-aid and joined MSDN as a Program Manager. From there, I joined the Windows SDK team – also as a Program Manager – where I owned the .NET Framework and Win32 tools and compilers. I really enjoyed that job, but what I really missed was the community connection. This led me to approach the MVP Team for an open position.

That is where I am today – as a Senior MVP Lead / Program Manager. As I continue to post, I’ll post more about my job on the team, the program, my work in the online community and my experiences with MVPs.

Thanks for checking out my little corner of the Web !
Tom Archer

October 26, 2007 - Posted by | Microsoft MVP Program | ,

5 Comments »

  1. I just subscribed to your blog so recent feeds are showing up in my backlog of unread items. This one reminds me of a question from when I was adding the subscription.

    Your name sounds very familiar to me and I think it is because of one of your books. Way back, though.

    Did you write one of the more successful books on Forth or was it something else in the microcomputer era?

    Comment by orcmid | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. orcmid: I’ve written about 10 books, but don’t write any longer – mainly due to the fact that outside of work, I’m working on my Master’s and have several hobbies that my wife and I enjoy. Probably the most well-known book (at least in terms of sales) that I wrote was Inside C#. However, that might note be it as you seem to be thinking of something much longer ago than that. Anyways, thanks much for subscribing to my blog. I’ll be posting lots of (hopefully) interesting tidbits on the goings-on with MVPs and the community as well as any techie sort of thing that catches my eye where I believe I can add some value with a comment or opinion.

    Comment by tomarcher | October 29, 2007 | Reply

  3. just a hello from one of your fans…

    Comment by شارپدیا | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. I have read your book ‘Inside C#’ over and over again. I foud it very very useful and so much fun. ‘CLR Via C#’ is difficult for me, but Step by step series is for beginners.
    I want a book, like a ‘Inside C#’. it taught me not only how to write, but also why do so. I do not care CLR thing so much. I know you do not write any longer. so, Could you suggest the C#3.0 book? The one similer to ‘Inside C#’ style.

    Comment by pgwarts | December 25, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hello. I’ve read your MSDN article on Custom Drawn controls (seems like it was your first one? 🙂 ). I’m not sure this is the place to ask you a question – I hope you don’t mind.
    I have a CListview control completely custom drawn (we draw each column, each item), and I need to implement the Explorer’s Group View on it (LVM_ENABLEGROUPVIEW). Is it possible to use some of Windows’ rendering for this, or will I have to draw it myself (the group header, the horizontal line, etc..)? If its the latter, it feels like re-implementing Microsoft’s code.

    Comment by Bati | May 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

