Tom Archer's Blog

Windows and Web developer with Social Media tendencies

Convergence 2008 – Day 1 (sort of)

Grounded

Unfortunately, my trip to the Microsoft Convergence 2008 conference (covering Microsoft Dynamics product line) started on a rather auspicious note. While I had booked my airline tickets several weeks in advance, I didn’t realize until two days prior to leaving for the March 10-15 conference that the Southwest representative had incorrectly issued my tickets for the first day of the conference – instead of the day before. Oops! I tried to get the dates changed, but as we’ve all come to realize in this day and age, changing a ticket can sometimes cost as much as the ticket itself!

So…two lessons for me here:

1.       ALWAYS check your confirmation emails! In all the years that I’ve travelled, I’ve never had a reservation taken incorrectly. This perfect record obviously led to some complacency on my part regarding verifying these emails. I won’t be making that mistake again anytime soon.

2.       As my wife (and Jack Webb) would say “Just the facts”. I tend to get a little too conversational – probably due to my natural southern tendency to “chat” and make every transaction a little more friendly. In this case, I probably confused the rep by talking about the conference starting on Monday the 10th and how excited I was and so on and he might have put that date down at that point.

At any rate, ultimately my responsibility to check the dates so it’s a mistake I won’t be repeating again.

Things Turn Out Okay

Luckily…yes there is a silver lining here – I subsequently learned that the first day of Convergence is really all about the partners so as it turned out I didn’t miss anything anyways! Funny, how the universe looks out for us sometimes J

Next Up

In my next blog post, I’ll talk about my first day at Convergence, including all the brilliant MVPs, customers and sessions I met and saw!!

March 12, 2008 - Posted by | Convergence, Microsoft MVP Program

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

