Tom Archer's Blog

Windows and Web developer with Social Media tendencies

Dumping Twitter for a While

I’m changing my online communications strategy for a while. The combination of Twitter’s poor performance/reliability, less than stellar adoption and lack of options/features has led me to believe that Twitter might not be the best way to share my opinions and experience regarding the MVP Program, MVPs and “community” in general. Therefore, I’m going to go back to blogging more consistently to communicate that information.

June 11, 2008 - Posted by | TechEd

3 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear it Tom. Feel free to blog Twitter-length posts though.

    Comment by paulmwatson | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Paul. That’s exactly what I’m going to do. The thing that has held me back from blogging for so long is that I tend to only blog when I can write a full-length article. I’m going to return to what blogging was originally intended for – writing salient information that interests me regardless of length – and that hopefully interests a few others. Some posts will be very short (as the one I’ll post in just a moment) and some will be longer, but the blogging medium is just so much better in terms of communication than the twitter-like technologies.

    Comment by tomarcher | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Tom,

    I dub thee trend-spotter! Oddly enough, I’ve come about as near as I can to this madness — I actually set up an account today in case three years from now it finally has something productive to offer. Figured I might as well save myself a decent username.

    The only thing currently of interest is that some news organizations are now publishing on Twitter along with full RSS feeds, so there’s a chance the interface could spare us a wee bit of mental bandwidth in the future, but it’s not there yet.

    Sigh.

    My sense is that it’s for people who need the PR for their careers. You, my good man, do not!

    Twitter-length posts are a great alternative.

    Cheers,

    Martin

    Comment by a.k.a. | November 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

