Tom Archer's Blog

Windows and Web developer with Social Media tendencies

Marcus Murray Tech*Ed session on hacking

As a C/C++/Assembler programmer, I’ve always been interested in security and exploits. Working now at Microsoft, I had the opportunity to work closely with the Security team in getting the Windows SDK to pass various security measures in order to ship. During this time, I met security guru Michael Howard, read his book and learned much from those experiences.

I just completed watching a session that – after 20+ years of attending such conferences and sessions – was the most impressive session I’ve seen. Called “A  Hackers Diary: How I Can Hack Your Vulnerable Services and How You Can Stop Me” and given by Marcus Murrary, the session had great live demos, was perfectly and covered a complex topic in a very short period of time. I’ll definitely be reading much more of Marcus’ work and be checking out many of the tools he discussed. Look for some articles from me on this topic as this session really excited me about getting back into this passion…

June 11, 2008 - Posted by | Security, TechEd

6 Comments »

  1. Here’s the video session. http://e.msteched.com/public/online/08_NA_SEC354_Low_IT.wmv

    Comment by Edgar Z. | June 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog like yours
    take a massive amount work? I am completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary on
    a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    Comment by Karl | January 9, 2013 | Reply

  3. What a great contribution on Marcus Murray Tech*Ed session on hacking Tom Archer’s Blog. Most Impressive!

    Comment by hcg diet plan | March 23, 2013 | Reply

  4. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    Comment by Petra | May 5, 2013 | Reply

  5. Thankfulness to my father who shared with me regarding this webpage, this weblog is really awesome.

    Comment by best Stairlifts online | May 8, 2013 | Reply

  6. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back frequently!

    Comment by blogspot.com | July 28, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

