Tom Archer's Blog

Windows and Web developer with Social Media tendencies

New Job at Microsoft!

I started my new job this week! I am a “Programmer/Writer” within the MSD (Managed Solutions Division) org. So first, what is a “Programmer/Writer” and what responsibilities does that role entail? In broad terms, a Programmer/Writer (also called a Programming Writer) is a technical person that writes code samples and documentation for a developer audience. The cool thing about this job is that I get to do two things I enjoy very much: coding and writing. Coming from a coding background, I especially like the fact that I can code now without worrying about the drudgery of being a line coder where once you’ve learned a new technology or framework, you’re now doing the same thing over and over. In my new job, once I’ve documented something and written code samples for it, I move on to the next cool thing to learn and document!

So what am I documenting? I’m responsible for Group Policy and Windows Server Update Services. Specifically, I’ll be writing the example code and documetation for the Group Policy Powershell cmdlets! Very cool stuff indeed 🙂

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | 1

4 Comments »

  1. Good luck Tom! Welcome to the world of GP!

    Comment by Darren Mar-Elia | May 7, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Darren! Definitely new territory for me, but I’m excited to learn as much as I can!

      Comment by tomarcher | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. Congratulations! Who is now the new MVP Lead?

    Comment by Al Pascual | May 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Thans, Al ! Melissa Travers and Mark Clagett are the Office MVP Leads.

      Comment by tomarcher | May 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

